Uchumi settles Government debt, plans a rights issue
Sep 19, 2014
Nestlé appoints Ciru Miring’u to head its regional operations
Sep 22, 2014

Who will be East Africa’s most celebrated business leaders?

Ms. Mwangi, becomes the first Kenyan to clinch the post. (Image: Courtesy)

Kenyans dominate the list of nominees vying for the regional annual CNBC Africa All Africa Business Leaders Awards (AABLA) that will be held in Nairobi tomorrow evening.

The awards, presented by Johnnie Walker Blue Label celebrates the pioneers and game-changers in the continent’s business landscape.

The nominees feature across four categories, representing the full, dynamic scope of Africa’s thriving business sector from Business Leader of the Year to Business Woman of the Year, Young Business Leader of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year.

They will then contend against other regional winners from West and Southern Africa in the AABLA finale that will take place in November, vying for the title of Africa’s most exceptional businesspeople in their respective fields.

Contestants in the Business Leader of the Year will includes Kenyans, Benson Irungu Wairegi, the Chief Executive Officer, British American Investment, James Mworia, CEO and Managing Director of Centum Investment Company, Rakesh Rao, CEO Crown Paints and Tanzanian media magnate Reginald Mengi CEO IPP Group.

Nominees for the business woman of the year include Esther Muchemi,CEO of Samchi Telecom Ltd will compete with Joanne Muthoni Mwangi CEO of PMS Group, Nasim Devji, CEO and Managing Director of Diamond Trust Bank and Tabitha Karanja of Keroche Breweries Ltd.

“The awards celebrate an excellence emphasized by boldness and rare character and recognize those indelible business leaders who have made a distinctive contribution in their respective sectors by demonstrating accountability, best practice, integrity and innovation on the continent,” said Roberta Naicker,” Managing Director of the ABN group.

Entrepreneur of the Year award will feature Sudhir Ruparelia the CEO and Founder of Ruparelia Group of Companies and Manoj Shanker, CEO of Technobrain Ltd while young Business Leader of the Year will be contested by Danson Muchemi of Jambopay Webtribe Ltd, Erick Konoti Mwirigi the Founder of Shades Systems and Patrick E. Ngowi of Helvetic Solar.

Comments are closed.